Asset 1

A Site by Beck & Stone

Edmund Burke Award

Statesman, theorist, and philosopher: The work of Edmund Burke (1729-1797) is as pertinent today as it has ever been. Last year, celebrating our thirty-seventh season, The New Criterion honored Andrew Roberts with the seventh annual Edmund Burke Award for Service to Culture and Society. This year we are delighted to honor Conrad Black with the eighth iteration of the award. Please join us on April 30, 2020 as we celebrate his work at a gala dinner at The Metropolitan Club in New York City.

The New Criterion’s Edmund Burke Award for Service to Culture & Society honors individuals who have made conspicuous contributions to the defense of civilization. Previous honorees have included Andrew Roberts, Victor Davis Hanson, Philippe de Montebello, Henry Kissinger, Charles Murray, and Ayaan Hirsi Ali; to learn more about the award, please click here.

We are delighted to be able to offer advance ticket sales for $1,000 each. All contributions to the Edmund Burke Award gala directly support the activities of The New Criterion, and are tax-deductible to the fullest extent allowed by law. For information about table sponsorship opportunities, please contact Benjamin Riley: [email protected] or 212-247-6980.

We are pleased to be able to offer a limited number of tickets for members of the Young Friends of The New Criterion at a reduced rate of $250 each.

April 30, 2020 | 6:30 PM
The Metropolitan Club, New York
black tie

If you are unable to attend but still wish to show your support for The New Criterion, we appreciate any gift you can contribute.

or purchase tickets below.

Conrad Black is a financier and author and columnist in a large number of publications in Canada, the United States, and the United Kingdom, including the National Post, National Review Online, American Greatness, and The New Criterion. He is the author of biographies of Maurice Duplessis, Franklin D. Roosevelt, and Richard M. Nixon, a strategic history of the United States (Flight of the Eagle), and Rise to Greatness: the History of Canada from the Vikings to the Present. His most recent books are Donald J. Trump: A President Like No Other and The Canadian Manifesto. He was the publisher of the London Telegraph newspapers and The Spectator from 1987 to 2004 and controlled many other newspapers including the Chicago Sun-Times, the Jerusalem Post, and the National Post, which he founded. He is the active honorary chairman of Conrad Black Capital Corporation, has been a member of the British House of Lords as Lord Black of Crossharbour since 2001, and is a Knight of the Holy See.